3-3: Blog Review

The educator’s blog I researched connected blogging with her writing lesson.  Every Friday students were given a quick write prompt to better their writing skills.  For my students, these weekly exercises would be beneficial to practice their conventions and organizational skills.  These student blogs helped me realize how many different ways I could connect my language arts curriculum with blogging exercises.  I plan on using creative writing prompts to have my students work on their writing skills.  In addition, I plan on having students blog about books and provide reviews on what they may have learned, liked, or disliked about the book. Please check out Mrs. Eaves’ classroom blog to check out some of her student’s blogs.  

https://3enews.edublogs.org/category/quick-write/

3 thoughts on “3-3: Blog Review”

  1. Hi John!
    Thanks for sharing this blog and your thoughts on incorporating it into your own classroom. I really like the idea of using a blog for students to review books that they’ve read! I’ve done paper and pencil book reviews in the past, but using blogs to do it could be a little more intriguing for the kids!
    Thanks for sharing 🙂
    Krista

  2. John,
    This was a neat post for me to read! As a secondary teacher, I appreciate your perspective. The quick-write ideas that you are planning on using are creative and engaging, and I am sure your students will have something to write about them!! I also think Mrs. Eaves’ student blogs are quite impressive for being her third grade students’. (I even found a very heartwarming interaction between Landon and his teacher – he had made a post on his old blog and Mrs. Eaves commented!)
    Thanks for your blog post.
    Anna

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *